Mistakenly Eating Pork
Question :

What is the Kaffara for mistakenly eating pork?

Answer :

There is no Kaffara for this.

Glycerine
Question :

There is a substance widely used in the food market – for example, in cakes and muffins – called Glycerol (Glycerine), as a humectant or sweetener. Can I eat the cake if it contains this substance?

Answer :

If the said material contains a substance prohibited to consume then it is prohibited to consume it; otherwise, it is permissible to consume.

Kangaroo
Question :

Is it permissible to eat the meat of the kangaroo?

Answer :

It is prohibited to consume the meat of the kangaroo based on compulsory precaution.

Attending a Wedding
Question :

If we attend a wedding reception held by Christian friend, and they serve separate halal food, is it permissible for us to dine there and consume what they claim to the halal food, while we also know that the food was cooked by Christians who may not know the Islamic dietary laws?

Answer :

If the food does not contain meat then one can consume it if he does not know that it is najis. If the food contains meat then it must be confirmed that it is slaughtered in accordance to the Sharia, in addition to not knowing that the food is najis. Confirmation of it being slaughtered in accordance to the sharia can be by knowing so himself or by a Muslim who one expects to say the truth informing him of this, or if the provider of the food claims that he obtained it from a Muslim as being slaughtered in accordance to the Sharia. The provider of the food can be non-Muslim who one does not expect to lie.

Ethyl
Question :

There is an alcohol called Ethyl (also known as Ethanol) which is supposed to be in many normal drinks, by a percentage of around 0.05%. A beverage company has openly admitted it on their website but also states that it is possible for permissible consumption. The amount seems so small, I am sure in essence it changes and does not remain in its original form. I would like your view if those drinks with ethyl are permissible or not?

Answer :

Every liquid that can cause intoxication naturally is impure - Najis and prohibited to consume. If alcohol is added to a drink then it is prohibited to consume, If the amount was little in such a way that it does not exist - because of its small percentage, then it is prohibited because it is prohibited to consume impure things, If the amount was little but can be distinguished, then it is prohibited due to the prohibition of consuming wine and the prohibition of impure things.

Rennet
Question :

Some of the cheese products manufactured in non-Muslim countries contain rennet extracted from the calf or other animals. We do not know whether the rennet was taken from the animal that was slaughtered according to Islamic laws; nor do we know whether it has transformed into something else. So is it permissible to eat such cheese?

Answer :

It is allowed to use the rennet that is extracted from the animal that was not slaughtered according to Islamic laws, since it is tahir and exempted from the prohibition of using parts of the animal corpse.

Tasting Food
Question :

I am working in a kitchen as a cook. I was wondering if it was permissible for me to taste food that is not permissible to consume.

Answer :

You can taste the food that is prohibited to consume provided that you do not swallow it, and you should make your mouth tahir too if the food was najis.

No Time to Cook Food
Question :

I live in a place where I do not have time to cook food due to work and extreme fatigue after work hours; seafood restaurants are very far away from my office and home, and they are very expensive; halal restaurants are not easily available. In such circumstances, if I eat the meat of the People of the Book, even though I have heard that it is not permissible; would it be considered a sin?

Answer :

The mentioned circumstances provide no justification to consume prohibited food, and it is a sin to do so.

Seafod
Question : Artificial Crab is used in sushi food; is it halal to eat?
Answer : If the fish that is used in the making of such products is halal, it is permissible to consume such a product. If it is not then it is not permissible to consume it.
Food & Drink
Question : Is grape jam najis?
Answer : If the juice in the grape is boiled in the process of making the jam, then based on an obligatory precaution one should avoid consuming it. If the said juice does not boil in the said process, then it is permissible to consume the jam. However, it is considered tahir in both cases.

Food & Drink
Question : Is it true that eating cheese without nuts is undesirable (makruh)?
Answer : It is has been reported that eating cheese with walnut is recommended.
Food (fish)
Question : If one is buying spawn of fish which have scales, is it obligatory to know how the fish was caught (dead or alive)?
Answer : It is a condition in the permissibility of consuming the eggs of the fish that it is taken from the water alive. If purchasing the spawn is not for the purpose of eating them, then it is permissible to do so even if the fish was not taken from the water alive.
food
Question : Are we allowed to eat parts of the cow such as the tongue, lungs, heart, liver, brain?
Answer : Yes, it is permissible to eat all of the said parts.
Food
Question : Is it permissible to eat meat that is slightly or moderately burned or charred, such as when it is barbequed and becomes black?
Answer : It is permissible.
Food & Drink
Question : If a person does not eat meat for forty days or more at a time intentionally, when lawful meat is available to him, is this considered as disliked?
Answer : It was reported in various narrations that it is disliked to abandon eating meat for forty days.
Food & Drink
Question : Is it permissible to eat at western based fast-food chains in Muslim countries?
Answer : If they use meat from non-Muslim countries, then it is not permissible to eat there. If they use meat from Muslim countries, then it is permissible.
Food in Non Muslim Countries
Question : Approximately 75 to 82 percent of the population where I live is polytheists. If we buy any food already prepared from shops or elsewhere, there is maximum probability that this food is prepared or touched with hand by a polytheist.
In these kind of countries, is it permissible to eat foods prepared or touched by wet hands of a polytheists?
Answer : If the food contains meat, one must make sure it is slaughtered in accordance to the religion by taking it from a Muslim that deals with it as a Muslim deals with halal meat, before consuming it.
If it does not contain meat, it is permissible to consume it with the probability that the food did not come in contact with a Najis thing. If one knows that it came in contact with a Najis thing like if a polytheist touched it with dampness, then it is not permissible to consume it.
Fish
Question : If scientists genetically modify a fish that has no scales originally to produce (give birth to) fish that have scales, will those fish with scales be permissible to eat?
Answer : It is prohibited to consume fish that does not have scales. It is permissible to consume fish that have scales even if they have them through genetic modification.
Medicine
Question : Is it permissible to consume cannabis as medicine? Some people say that it is less damaging to the body than other pharmaceutical drugs and treatments for certain illnesses.
Answer : It is prohibited to consume an intoxicant as a medicine, unless saving the life of the patient depends on it.
Halal/Haram
Question : One found out from a reliable source that a brand of meat claiming to be halal is in fact not. He told his mother. She asked another source who claimed otherwise. She is asking him to buy the meat for her. Is it permissible for him to buy such a meat for her?
Answer : If the meat is taken from a Muslim or Muslims’ market, then one is permitted to sell it and buy it and do so on behalf of others. It is not permissible to buy or sell it if he came to know or two just (Adil) witnessed that the said meat is not slaughtered in accordance to the Sharia. Doubting of some people is not sufficient to consider it as non-Halal meat as long as it is possible to be slaughtered in accordance to the Sharia and it is taken from a Muslim or bought from Muslims’ market.